Girly Screams and Baby Scorpions…

baby scorpion

So, we live in southwest Florida…on an island…which is 90% wildlife refuge.  The humans?  We are just invading the territory of a variety of creepy crawlies.  Dr. Death, (our dear pest control guy,) does his best to keep scorpions out of the INSIDE of our home, but seriously it only helps so much.  Fortunately, we have only been seeing BABY scorpions inside lately.  The ‘mamas and the papas’ we have only seen in our garage since the last visit from Dr. Death.  I got pretty comfortable with seeing the big ones when we first moved in, which explains why the little ones, like the baby pictured above, don’t even get my infamous girly scream.  Of course, when my little girl woke me up the other night and told me there was a bug in her bed, you better believe I did a thorough search of that bed at 2 a.m…

Still, I have gotten used to our household ‘pet,’ the scorpion…  After assessing the list of possible predators that could kill me in our back yard, from the alligators to the snakes, (to the panthers or bobcats I have yet to see,) I have decided to save my girly scream for the moment I really need it.  Not that it will do me much good…(Read about my initial impressions of Florida as told by the fly on my wall, here.) 😉

Today, after I saw two baby scorpions next to my computer, I decided to have key lime pie with my coffee for breakfast.  (Thank you, Charles, for bringing it home-just in time.)  Something is going to kill me eventually, right?  Here’s to another day in paradise!  🙂

In addition to wildlife, SW Florida has an abundance of KEY LIME PIE. 😉

10 thoughts on “Girly Screams and Baby Scorpions…

  1. Oh jeez Sarah scorpions?!? Yikes! Yesterday we had to toss two lizards off our screen porch but they are super cute.
    Scorpions!! I don’t know about that. We (thankfully) don’t have those. If I ever felt something crawling around in my bed at 2am and I flipped on the light and it turned out to be a scorpion you would at the very least hear a champion girly scream from me I’m pretty sure. 🙂 😉
    Alligators I’m comfortable with, but scorpions even baby ones, oooo not so much.

    So pie for breakfast huh? I’m gonna have to try that.

    Like

    1. Phil, I agree that the lizards are cute…especially inside of my house. The scorpions are part of my new reality…hooray! 😉 When we first moved in, there was a LOT of girly screaming coming out of my big mouth. I am surprising myself even as I ‘adapt.’ You would probably be fine after the first ‘scream.’ 😉

      YES- try pie for breakfast. Especially, on a Monday or day of the week you aren’t feeling crazy about. 🙂

      Like

    1. I woke up with an anole in the bed with me and I quick switched on the light and it turned pink like the sheets. For some reason I wasn’t scared. I prefer that to a scorpion. I have never seen a scorpion in the wild. I would freak. I wonder if the anoles eat them?

      I never found the name of that pink flower. Did you?

      Like

      1. Now, that would have been cool-seeing the anole turn pink like the sheets! I really hope they eat scorpions because there are quite a few around my home and some that get in, too… I haven’t figured out the name of the flower yet..:-(

        Like

  2. Sarah, ironic you just wrote about scorpions. I live in rural north central Florida – about 25 miles north of Gainesville. I had house guests last Wednesday night and one of them got bitten by a scorpion that had crawled up her pants when she left them on the bathroom floor. Wasn’t the end of the world though. I put Colloidal Silver on the bite and that took care of it immediately.

    Like

    1. I think I have pretty much scared most potential visitors away from visiting with this blog. 😉 I have been worried about the scorpions biting my kids however…We had a ‘big’ one in the kitchen yesterday…So, THANK YOU, JP…I am going to get some of that Silver just in case! 🙂

      Like

  3. Hey there I am so excited I found your web site, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was searching on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot
    for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb
    work.

    Like

Leave a comment